How To Clean And Season Old Rusty Cast Iron

I wish I could tell you how they got to be in such poor condition, but I can’t.

My dad has used the same cast iron skillet for as long as I can remember. Once, he forgot and left it heating on the stove. It turned orange (yes, THAT’S hot!) and cracked in half. My dad’s devotion was such that he took the two halves out to the garage and welded it back together. That was at least 15 years ago and the skillet is as good as ever. So I’m sure you can understand the horror I felt when I unpacked my own cookware (pictured above) after it had been in storage for 18 months! Obviously, I had to bring it back to its former glory.

There are a lot of tutorials out there for seasoning your cast iron, but not a lot about getting rust off. (One I found involved oven cleaner. NO thank you.) The ones I did find used steel wool, which I didn’t have handy and I don’t much care for it anyway because I always manage to cut or scratch myself with it. So…I used what I had sitting around and got to it.

What You Need

Materials
The end chunk of a potato (enough to be able to hold firmly)
Course salt
A rusty cast iron skillet
A little vegetable oil (canola or olive will do)

Equipment
Gloves (optional, but recommended)

Instructions

 

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-clean-and-season-old-ru-151535

Please visit the link, to read the complete article.  Good stuff, there.

About ace5ace

60, roaming the Ozarks.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Austerity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

